Matt Austin assulted this union member at the CAPS Union Sutter street office today


Thank you Charles R. for letting this Unionist (me) know of this: I will consult with other rank & file of my own SEIU 1021 Union.

It is critical that all rank & file share vital reports such as yours. I support y(our) rights as a Unionist not to be harmed, threatened, "locked out" gagged censored, slandered, stalked,or "gooned" by "socalled Unionists". I also appeal to every Unionist to collectively, calmly assess and share any such reports like yours with other Unionists and family. Whether you are in the CAP, SEIU, ILWU, Teamsters, ATF and so forth. "An Injury to One is an Injury to All!"

I have two questions for this "Matt Austin" is 1. WHICH SIDE ARE YOU ON?!"
2. Who are you working for? The Union or ____?

In solidarity with members of CAP who are on the right side– UNION

Topaz Kenney-Du Bois (still active in SEIU 1021 County of Solano, former Contract Action Team 2007 co-chair)
fired from County of Solano December 27, 2010 while on medical leave
and actively suing the County of Solano for Unsafe, Hostile Work Conditions-Adult Mental Health

On Fri, Aug 26, 2011 at 5:50 PM, Charles Rachlis <crachlis> wrote:

Sent: Friday, August 26, 2011 4:58 PM
Subject: Matt Austin struck me today at the CAPS* Sutter street office. office

Hi Patty Valdez**,

Today I went to the SF CAPS office to inspect the membership list. Based on the communication we received (in an e-mail to caucus member and CAPS candidate for Treasurer Giorgio Cosentino) from Chris Voight stating that members could go to either the San Francisco or the Sacramento office to inspect the records. I (Charles Rachlis caucus member and candidate for Vice President of CAPS) took a few vacation hours to visit the CAPS office in SF and inspect the membership list, as is our right.

To prepare the office staff for my visit, I sent two emails to the CAPS staff on August 25th and asked for information by COB on how to inspect the list. In the second e-mail I noticed that I planned to go to the office and inspect the list. Not getting a response from CAPS staff by 9:30 am today (in fact still none by now) I traveled to the city for the visit.

When I got to the office at #1 Sutter Street Suite 800 I found the door locked. On the door there were plaques for Blanning and Baker, then CAPS, then PECGS, and one more organization. I knocked on the door and after a few moments Matt Austin opened the door. I stepped across the threshold with my left foot and much to my surprise Matt Austin struck me across the chest with his forearm in an attempt to block my entry and demanded in a belligerent tone “what are you doing here?” I responded, I am here to inspect the list. I referenced the emails with Chris Voight and my two unanswered emails and proceeded to enter. Matt pointed to the chairs and I waited there.

Matt threatened me with security and I explained again that Chris already Okayed our right to see the list. He then called Chris but could not get through. Then obviously frustrated and not wanting to show me the list he came over to me and got right up in my face (about 2.5 inches from me) and said with a twisted up face, “listen buster you don’t know who your messing with.” “You can see the list but you have to be civil.” I responded, “what is the definition of civil? Is there a definition in the bylaws of civil?” Of course I was thinking how can someone who hits you on the way into the room then gets up in your face complain that you’re not being civil? Then the phone rang and Chris called back. Matt answers and tells Chris that Charles is here and he is being a jerk. Now that got my goat and so I over spoke Matt loudly just so Chris could hear me and understand that members rights were being trampled.

Moments later Matt hangs up with Chris and calls security to run me out of the building. I challenged his authority to kick me out of the CAPS office. I noted that as a CAPS member I pay for the office and have a right to come there. He then told me CAPS pays no rent here and that I was not a tenant of the building and he would call the cops which he promptly did. I demanded to know whose office it is because it says CAPS on the door. Matt said it is his office, and continued his call to the cops to have me arrested. At which point I called my lawyer and asked what to do and we decided to leave under duress when the building security asked me to leave.

So CAPS has to answer:
1) Is it CAPS policy to allow staffers to hit members?
2) Is the office at Sutter Street a CAPS office or is it Matt Austin’s office?
3) What is the proper procedure for inspecting the membership list?
4) Who is Matt Austin I do not see him listed on the CAPS web site?
5) Why is the Sutter Street address listed on the web site if it is not a CAPS office as Matt stated?
6) Why is the plaque for CAPS on the door of Suite 800 if this is Matt Austin’s office and not a CAPS office?
7) Why are CAPS materials and information stored in Matt Austin’s office which he claims is not a CAPS office?
8) Why did Chris Voight tell us we could inspect the list at the CAPS office on Sutter Street if that is not the case?
9) When, where and how can CAPS members inspect the membership list?

How long has this type of intimidation been going on? Now I understand why members have been hesitant to stand up for their rights. Blanning and Baker which holds CAPS captive will do everything it can to prevent members from looking into how they loot our organization.

Charles Rachlis
Associate Industrial Hygienist
Richmond Campus Health and Safety Officer

*CAPS is the California Association of Professional Scientists representing 2500 State of Califonia Scientists
**Patty Valdez is the lame duck president of the organization.

About Mad Scientist

Member of California Association of Professional Scientists
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

